Raleigh Fireball 3 + 2 - Class 1

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Okay gents, this is hopefully the first of many entries. I have several bikes at the the powder coater, and this is the first one on the stand. I got this a while back and even picked up a donor bike this spring. One is a Raleigh Fireball and the other is the equivalent Canadian version, the Eaton's Glider. Both are 3 speeds, but this one will be getting the +2 treatment with a NOS Sturmey Archer 5 speed hub, and the elusive Sturmey Archer 5 Speed Twinshift with wooden knobs. The last one of these I saw on ebay sold for $450 US and was purchased by a fellow from Australia. I haven't seen one since. I'll be making mine from parts I've been collecting for a couple years. Even the NOS 5 speed hubs are crazy money. Luckily I scored 14 of these a couple years ago. Sold most of them for $300 each and kept a few for my own builds.

I'll be doing some custom touches with this bike, but not enough to move it to Class 2. You'll notice that the main difference between the UK versions of this bike and the one's sold in North America, is the seat. The UK seat is hard to come by, but I'm not too worried. I prefer the North American style seat.

How do you guys like the colour I chose??

1968raleighcat_us_05_lg.jpg

IMG_7259.JPG
IMG_0863.JPG
IMG_7686.JPG
IMG_8944.JPG
IMG_8945.JPG
IMG_8946.JPG
t2ec16vzoe9s5neqpbqkybd5pl60_57.jpg

s5_1.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_8961.JPG
    IMG_8961.JPG
    213.5 KB · Views: 249
  • IMG_8962.JPG
    IMG_8962.JPG
    208.9 KB · Views: 232
That's really a cool ride. How do the twin shifters work? Is it a 3 speed with 2 extra gears controlled by the second shifter ?

Dig the color on the lugged frame! RaT oN~!

That's really a cool ride. How do the twin shifters work? Is it a 3 speed with 2 extra gears controlled by the second shifter ?