Mountain Bikes to Cruisers - Questions

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Since my wife and I no longer mountain bike like we used to 10-12 years ago, and we are enjoying our new Electra cruisers so much, we decided we would try converting our mountain bikes to something a lot more fun for us. I've seen some threads here on RRB that shows the results of such conversions and we like what we see.

We have my wife's Trek 8000 and my Schwinn Moab 3 to play with. I am really looking forward to this.

Here's the rub. Since I will be doing all the work with only creative input from my wife and I have no experience at all tearing down and modifying bikes (this will be my first and second build), I'm gonna need a lot of help here and it seems you kindly rad rodders here are usually willing to offer it.

I plan on starting the conversions this fall when it cools down giving us time to enjoy the summer and save some money for the builds. I'll use the intervening time to gather my thoughts on what we want to do.

What I see so far is:

1) stripping and re-painting the frames and wheels. Looks like the Dupli-Color products are good for this.
2) replacing the front forks, handle bars, grips, seat posts, seats, pedals, tires and maybe the front chainring (see below)
3) adding the fun stuff like fenders, chainguards, mirrors and bells

This thread will probably run to infinity and beyond, so I'll start exhibiting my complete lack of knowledge with the following...

First question: Is there an "Everything You Always Wanted To Know About Converting A Mountain Bike To A Cruiser" reference anywhere?

Just kidding, I sorta know the answer to that one so...

Second question: Can I replace the front three-ring chainring for a simple chainring?

Why you ask?