Huffy Bicycle - Help - Springer Front Fork?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I'm very new to this thread (here's my first post), this looks like an awesome site so congrats to the creators of this page! I would appreciate any help on this budget build. I have an early 2000s Huffy Santa Fe cruiser men's bicycle (26" tire I guess they call it), I'm trying to build to replicate a '50s era bicycle, like a decked out Schwinn (tank, fenders, etc). I'd like to go with a springer front fork, one of those $40 replicas (not a lowrider one but the closest looking to an older style springer front fork). Does anyone have any experience with these, how do they hold up? Especially on a motorized bike build? Also...any modification needed to the front steer tube? I read where someone once said you might have to cut it down...never got into modifying a bike before so I appreciate any tips or help I can.

Thank you. I also apologize if a thread like this already exists or if this is an extremely common question, I'm not familiar with the forum yet.

Best,
Mike

The Springer fork you're talking about is doable on a motorized bike, I've done it. I wouldn't go with to big of an engine tho.
The steer tube sometimes needs to be cut down to fit the head tube of the frame, but not always. If it needs cut make your measurements and mark where the threaded portion needs cut. You'll want to thread the bearing race down just below your mark, and cut with a hacksaw or cut off disk. After the cut thread off the race to chase the threads.

I think there are videos on YouTube of this process, wouldn't hurt to check before you go cutting.