Headset/Fork Question

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Everyone...

I have no experience with bike rebuilding so I thought I'd turn here for advice.

I recently found an old Schwinn Cruiser bike on bulk trash pick up day in our neighborhood and I'd like to turn it into a 69'er single speed klunker. I have a 1" rigid fork from a Surly Karate Monkey I'd like to put on it but the current threaded headset has 21.1 stamped on it. I have never owned a bike that has a threaded headset nor have I ever worked on one before.

Is there a non-threaded headset I can use to make this conversion work? What size would the new threadless headset need to be? Is this even possible? I checked out the Sheldon Brown headset chart that I found in another thread on this page but it made no mention of a 21.1 mm headset. I am assuming that the 21.1 stamped on the headset means it is 21.1mm but this could totally be the wrong assumption to make.

Thanks for any input and I'm sure I'll have a lot more questions in the near future.

Show me a pic of the bike, or confirm that it's a Chicago built Schwinn....

Also, confirm that your fork is, indeed, a 1". The KM complete has had a 1.125" set-up since it was introduced in 2002. I guess they might've made a 1" version as an "aftermarket"/upgrade fork, but i've never seen one...

If it is, you need a "bmx"-sized 1" threadless in order to run that fork in your frame. The only current-production one I know if is Chris King, so $130..... or you can find something used or NOS... or you measure the ID of the steerer tube, confirm that it's 21.1 or 22.2mm, and rock the original headset. Do NOT be tempted to drill out the steerer tube if the ID is undersized, nor should you try to monkey around with shims if it's oversized. That'd be pretty risky, in my view.