Fils bike? What is it?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I work as a bike mechanic that fixes up donated, and broken down road bikes for the shop to sell as a working bike. The bike has Fils written on both sides of the downtube in yellow. The bike is red. Fils means son in French.
The headbadge is a stick on one that says Tour du Monde (tour of the world) in small lettering. Below the Tour du Mond is Fils in big lettering. The bike has Falcon everything on it. It is a 3x5 drivetrain . This suggests mi 80s. It has a 3x cottered crankset. The name might suggest it is French, but it uses a Japanese/American headset with a 21.1mm quill stem. It uses a 25.8mm seatpost. I want to know if it has French BB threads or British/Asian threads.

More details.
The front wheel was quick release, while the rear was not.
It had the exact same cranks that were on a Firenze mountain bike.
It had center pull brakes with safety brake levers.
The bike was sparkly red with yellow logos.
The original cable housings were yellow.

Could it be a lower lineup or rebadge of a Peugeot? I remember seeing Peugeot with "Tour du Monde" stickers or something, though maybe that's just a generic kind of thing, like, GT is for cars. Maybe an Asian bike made to appear French?

Could it be a lower lineup or rebadge of a Peugeot? I remember seeing Peugeot with "Tour du Monde" stickers or something, though maybe that's just a generic kind of thing, like, GT is for cars. Maybe an Asian bike made to appear French?
It did not have Peugeot lugs. It was the same colors and design as a Firenze GL500. The Fils had waaay worse components then the Firenze. Maybe a cheaper version of a Firenze?