fightin fires, possibly kickin tires as well (new pics 7-7)

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Re: fightin fires, possibly kickin tires as well

You are either a totally brave individual willing to jeopardize your own safety to help others in need... or, you're just young and crazy! Either way, I salute you and your spirit of volunteerism. Best of luck to you and stay safe! Gary

Close, I was an EMT for a few years in northeastern Mass with a private company. I'm guessing this is your first job as an emergency worker so I'll drop some advice. It's a job (kind of as a volunteer), and the goal is to come home every day about the same as you left. You're the most important person on scene. Followed by your squad. Followed by other responders. Followed by whoever needs help. If you try to be a hero, you won't last. When you have a hard day, hug your family. And the pace isn't what you see on TV.

There's lots of downtime, which is forced bonding of sorts. You end up knowing the people you work with better than some of your family. I've been to weddings where the only other time I saw the person was at work. A bit weird introducing myself as the groom's partner!

I worked last summer as a DNR Wildland Firefighter out of Shelton, WA. Plan on doing it again next summer. Through that job I worked with a lot of local volunteer firefighters as we all work together on wildland fires, just after the fun initial attack part they leave and stick us with mop up and paperwork! I did learn that all types of firefighting seem to be 90% downtime, and maybe 10% of the time it's really hard, but rewarding, work.

just went to my first drill. we got a brand new engine with a state of the art foam system that uses compressed air. i got to soak a building and paint it white with bubbles, but that thing has a nasty kick on it like a giant powerwasher