Fabricating girder forks - help sourcing tapered tube?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm an idiot noob builder, and the Webb girder forks from the '20s have always fascinated me. Buying a set isn't possible, so I want to build a set. The geometry isn't that hard and there's plenty of reference out there online for it. I am learning to weld - and after enough practice I will be trying to make a set of these.

Trouble is, the tubes used to build the triangular girders on the ones I like best (for looks) are *tapered* from 3/4" to 5/8" over a run of about 13". Those are motorcycle forks though so my tube needs to be a smaller diameter.
Take a look at http://velobanjogent.blogspot.co.nz/2011/06/webb-girder-forks-general-look-at-some.html to see drawings of the forks.

My existing forks are about 11/16" at the top and taper along the curve to just under 1/2" - and that diameter will work well for the girders cosmetically.

I see online that 'real' fabricators can and do cut a skinny wedge out of standard tube and re-weld it to get tapers.
But yeah, nah. As I said, I'm a noob to welding. I am willing to weld the joints between tubes but a whole structural line? Too risky.

I have been wondering about steel tapered table or chair legs - but have no idea if they would be strong enough to do the job without being dangerous. Wall thickness/quality of steel?

Also wondering about using tapered 'seat stays' scavenged from other bikes (tubes from seatpost to rear axle mount). But again, strength is an unknown to me - maybe you folks will know if those are suitable to use.

So does anyone know where to get/scavenge/adapt tapered steel tube that roughly matches the taper above and will be strong enough to use as fork material?

Look at custom bicycle tubing sources, like nova cycles...