Decal making, microsoft word, laserjet,

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
Been messing around with decals. Im not a graphic designer and dont have access to special equipment. Wanted to see how far i could get with simple software, laser jet printer.

20170621_075701.jpg

Since there was no font i could replicate, i used the video below. Grabbed a dyno image off google, pasted into word, and used insert shape, right click, edit points. This let me outline the dyno script.

Added shading, added glow. Printed on laserjet with Avery clear gloss sticker paper. Papilio paper is supposed to be good, i didnt want to wait to order it,

I had this layed out lighter (one of the small D's in right bottom corner) but it prints fairly transparent and theres no white ink in a laserjet. It didnt show well on the dark grey bike im putting it on. I changed to black with fade.

I will apply a light coat of rattle can clear to the decal sheet before applying to help prevent scuffing.

Limitations: no white, colors are a little transparent. Best suited for light paint or chrome. Takes some time to learn the edit points in Word.

Lets talk - decal making for amateurs, post up ideas on what youve tried, or questions. Id like to keep this microsoft software / laserjet, inkjet based. Most folks have those tools to work with.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sou...7pu59teXkgrORLXlw&sig2=RuDSaijRP0gg5tPwtGFxFw

Results, OK, not great. Would work better on light color paint due to translucency of the printing. Lacquer spray can clear applied before peeling off the backer, sealed the decal up and flexed fine when installing.
20170621_183747.jpg

20170621_183819.jpg

This bike is going to a friends kid, wanted to dress it up some, accomplished that.