Axle size for Schwinn Typhoon

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I'm new to these bikes. I'm mainly a 80's BMX guy.

I am looking to pick up a 63 typhoon. It's just a frameset and I want to put on some 140 spoke Ebay wheels which are advertised at 3/8 axles. I'm basing this whole build/purchase around those wheels working and I wonder if anyone can confirm they will fit this frame set?

Thanks

First, welcome aboard!

I've used various wheels on the forks like the 63 Typhoon came with.
upload_2017-8-14_7-55-47.png

I think they came with the 5/16th axles, so the 3/8ths will need a little help. I file down the axle threads right where they slide onto the forks. Just the portion that contacts the forks, 2 slots on each side, and just enough to fit.

Thanks for the welcome and the response. I could grind some flats if necessary. Thanks for the info.

Most likely, your new hub will also be too wide between the dropouts to fit the fork without spreading the tines by brute force. You can do it, and most have, but i predict you´ll put a rad 26"BMX cruiser fork into that frame before long....

Welcome to RRB!

I think lots of people file out the forks too... Again just takes a little.
Yeah, they do.... but vintage Schwinn forks are worth a good bit of money, and they don´t make´m anymore, whereas hub axles are cheap, and they still make those in huge numbers. So, I´d definitely file 2 flats on the axle, rather than trying to enlarge the fork ends.

Rather then file anything, I like these-- http://porkchopbmx.com/front-bicycl...-135mm-with-5-16-flats-each-yellow-zinc-gold/