'81 Le Tour Tourist – The Talisman update 6/09

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Well here's my entry.
This is my first time to try to really restore a frame and give it new life. I'm not sure exactly what I want to do to it (seeing everyone's theme names is pretty intimidating) but I imagine my effort will be pretty simple.

I bought this frame off CraigsList from a guy who had intended to turn it into a fixed gear bike. He decided he didn't have time for it but only after he chopped off the cable stops and pulled off the headbadge.

I'm looking forward to putting this together and seeing how it turns out. Pics below of the frame when I bought it.
1_zps20883caf.jpg

2_zps0e1cd7d9.jpg

headbadge_zps881db6c3.jpg

Re: '81 Le Tour Tourist – no theme

Nice donor frame there. It's already been abused and is primed to be brought back to life and made your own. Good luck, have fun!

Welcome to RRB and BO8
Good luck

Hi all. Thanks for the encouragement and welcomes.

OctopusHook, on your build thread you said "just forget about it being a competition." I'm such a n00b I didn't know it WAS a competition. Now I won't be able to get that outta my head. : )

by erichitscar on Wed May 08, 2013 9:47 am
A fixed gear rat rod would be sweet.... just sayin'

So I was thinking of doing a fixie but that would mean having to buy rims. I've got a 26" rim with a 3speed hub on it laying around here unless of course I could convince the wife (read: get her drunk enough) to let me get these!!

I love these rims. Mostly because it has my middle name on them. :mrgreen:
julianv2rims_zps091fc517.jpg

SpokeAndTruth said:
OctopusHook, on your build thread you said "just forget about it being a competition." I'm such a n00b I didn't know it WAS a competition. Now I won't be able to get that outta my head. : )