1947 Dayton

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I picked up this frame at a motorcycle swap meet this past summer. I thought it looked like my Hiawatha, which I wanted to alter, but everyone was telling me to leave the Hiawatha the way it was.So here is my chance to build what I want and how I want.

The frame looks solid but covered in red house paint applied with a brush uggh :? Oh well, good thing I work as a spray technician and am able to lay down some flat black once its stripped. :lol:
The fork was broke when I bought it. The break looked pretty clean and a welder buddy of mine fixed it up for me. Before:

Close up of the break together:

After my buddy welded it together and I sand blasted it at work:

Heres a shot of the front fender after some straightening and sandblasting:

Heres the mounting hole where the screw goes through into the bridge of the fork (it will need a little work :roll: ):

Well I figured I would have some work ahead of me and there were several parts that I would need before I could have this thing rolling. I figured I might want something to sit on so I put the task before you all to find a seat for me and udall came to my rescue he sent me this one here:

And here is the bottom side:

And here it is after being torn apart stripped sand blasted and primed:

The seat did not have the mounting bracket so I was able to contact battenkustoms and he hooked me up with the seat post and brackets here:

(This is after sandblasting the rust off of it and priming with Rustoleum)

looking good, just wanted to post so I could follow your build easier.
the sprocket is the Colson style, still very cool looking. glad you saved the fork the Huffman forks aren't easy to find.