bike flip

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have never had so much problems painting in my life and I have been doing bikes since I was 10 years old. I think it is because I am trying to use Krylon brand paint over Rustoleum. The gold is just pealing off. But I think the idea might be cool if I can get it to work.
badpaint_zps52ba2e55.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

There is some sort of oil in the Rustoleum that keeps other types of paint from sticking and prevents rust. I saw a dune buggy tube frame primed with rustoleum that had to have it all sanded off and reprimed to get the paint he bought to stick.

I am doing something that is unprecedented in my life. I am actually working on 2 bike projects at the same time. Will see how long that lasts.
But started putting Bike flip back together. Need a couple of nuts and bolts but I think everything is ready to go.
Here it is so far.

Question on tires.
I know there is a difference between tires marked in fractions and those marked in decimal points but was wondering if there can be a size difference even with the same markings? I had a pair of gum wall tires for this (26" X 1 3/8") that fit fine but did not like the look so a bought a pair of all black no name ,cheap, Chinese ones that I like the look of but they are very, very tight to get on. I already popped one tube getting them on. I have never run into this problem before.
Any thoughts on this?

g-ratter,
Really like your bike gonna try my own version of a truss bike someday.
May want to check the rim & tire size there are
590 mm / 26 x 1 3/8
also
597 mm and 559 mm sizes.
Maybe you are trying to fit a 590 mm tire on a 597 mm rim?

597 would be a Schwinn S-6 (usually marked clearly) or possibly pretty old English equipment, which would probably not be marked. Do the old gumwall tires have ISO numbers, or just the new ones?