Non-vintage tandem into "stretch cruiser"

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
(If anybody gets a sense of "deja vu" reading this thread, it's probably because I first talked about this bike and my plans for it back in December, when I first got it: http://ratrodbikes.com/forum/index....intage-tandem-into-stretch.88747/#post-874993 There's going to be some duplication as I attempt to consolidate everything down into this "build thread," so apologies in advance! It's also going to be a LONG thread, much like the bike! ;) There's also apt to be a little editing along the way as I've never tried an epic thread before, so...you've been warned.)

I'd been lurking around this forum for a year or so before joining, and hanging around for a year marveling at the amazing stuff that RRB members create. My bike "building" skills are nowhere near the level of many of you guys -- I've tried my hand at welding exactly once, I've never used an angle grinder, I've never laced a wheel, and I haven't taken a hub or bottom bracket apart in about 40 years. If I had to put a label on my skills, I'd say I'm a "journeyman bicycle mechanic" -- I learned how to fix and repair my Huffy Cheater slick as a kid, to tune and adjust my three road bikes as a teenager, and to tune up and replace parts as needed on my first two mountain bikes as an adult. I also (eventually) learned the valuable lesson of "I tried to do it myself, not only failed but made it WORSE, and now it's going to cost three times as much to pay a shop to fix it than if I'd just paid them at the beginning." Whoops. :banghead: